Daily Devotionals: (May 4th): Prayer for Mercy in Chastisement

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.” Hebrews 12:6 

Whatever may be the discipline You need to employ for this inward heart-transformation, let me be willing to submit to it. Let me lie passive in the arms of Your mercy, saying, “Undertake for me.” May it be mine to bear all, and endure all, and rejoice in all—adoring a Father’s hand, and trusting a Father’s faithfulness, feeling secure in a Father’s love.

Blessed Jesus, anew would I wash in the Fountain that has been opened for sin and uncleanness. The new heart, like every holy blessing I can ask, is the purchase of that blood which You so freely shed. May it be sprinkled on my guilty conscience. May I ever know what it is to be living on a living Saviour, bringing my all-emptiness to His all-fullness; the unworthiness of my infinite demerit to the worthiness of His all-sufficient, all abounding, grace and mercy.

Shine upon my ways. May I this day get nearer heaven. May I feel at its close that I have done something for God, something to promote the great end for which existence was given me—the glory of Your holy name. Bless all my beloved friends. Unite us together in bonds of holy fellowship here; and at last, in Your presence, may we be permitted to drink together of the streams of everlasting love. Let the morning bring me word of Your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in You. Show me the way I should go, for to You I lift up my soul. All this I ask is for Jesus’ sake. Amen.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Tags:

One Trackback to “Daily Devotionals: (May 4th): Prayer for Mercy in Chastisement”

Leave a Reply

