Daily Devotionals: (June 24th): Prayer for the Prayers of Christ

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not” —Luke 22:32 

O God, I bless You for the returning mercies of a new day. “I laid down and slept; I awoke, for the Lord sustained me. I will not be afraid of the ten thousands who have set themselves against me.” Give me, I beseech You, Your fatherly protection and blessing, that all my thoughts may be ordered by You, and all my plans and purposes overruled by You, and all my joys hallowed by You, and all my sorrows sanctified by You. Keep me near Yourself. While I seek to realize every hour of this day the power and subtlety of my spiritual adversaries, may I rejoice in the assurance that greater is He who is with me than all those who can be against me, that, “though a host should encamp against me,” with God on my side, “I need fear no evil.”

I mourn the prevalence of sin, both in the world and in my own heart. Your creation still groans and travails under its power. “The Prince of the power of the air still works in the children of disobedience.” “The whole world lies in the Wicked One.” Often is Satan still “desiring to have me, that he might sift me as wheat,” “standing at my right hand to resist me,” to oppose my plea and damage my cause, sending some “thorn in the flesh to buffet me,” marring my peace, disturbing my joy, and hindering and impeding my spiritual growth and advancement. But, Lord, it is my comfort to know that there is in heaven a “stronger than the strong man,” that no time can impair or diminish the comfort of the assurance, “I have prayed for you, that your faith fail not.” When Satan assaults, blessed Jesus, pray for me.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

