Daily Devotionals: (June 9th): A Prayer for Usefulness

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading:  “Then said I, Here am I; send me.”Isaiah 6:8

Lord, I come again this morning; I plead Your Word, its power and its promises. I come, irrespective of all I am, and all I have been. Magnify Your grace in me, Lord. Show me my utter beggary and wretchedness by nature—that every step to glory is a step of grace; and while, with childlike faith, I rest on the finished work of Jesus, may I have the same simple trust and confidence in all His dealings towards me.

May I feel that the Shepherd of Israel cannot lead me wrong, that His own way must be the safest and the best. Lord, “undertake for me.” “I will follow You to prison and to death.” Take me, lead me, use me, as You see good. If I need chastisement, give me chastisement. If I need rebuke, let me not complain under the rod. Let me trust a Father’s word, a Father’s love, a Father’s discipline. “Though You slay me, yet will I trust in You.”

And as for myself, Lord, I pray for all dear to me. I pray that it may please You, of Your infinite mercy, to visit them with Your salvation, to guide them by Your counsel, to overrule all life’s changes and vicissitudes and trials for their well-being, and at last to bring them safe to Your eternal kingdom, through Jesus Christ, to whom, with You, O Father, and You, O eternal Spirit, three in one in covenant for our redemption, be ascribed, all blessing, and honor, and glory, and praise, world without end. Amen.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

