Daily Devotionals: (June 12th): Prayer for Singleness of Mind

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “For thus saith the LORD, Behold, I will extend peace to her like a river.”Isaiah 66:12

My Father in heaven, teach me, in childlike faith and confidence, to draw near this morning to Your throne of grace with singleness of mind. Give me the blessed influences of Your Holy Spirit, that I may wait on You undisturbed by worldly distractions and enter on the duties of another day with my mind “stayed upon Jehovah.”

Blessed Jesus!—You who so freely gave Yourself a ransom for many—cleanse me! I have no peace but in Your pardoning, reconciling love. May Your blood and righteousness be to me “a glorious dress,” arrayed in which I may now and forever stand fearless and undismayed.

I bless You, O God, if I have in any degree felt the preciousness of the Saviour and His adaptation to all the needs and weaknesses of my sinful, and sorrowful, and tempted nature. I thank You that You have already hidden me in the clefts of the smitten Rock. My prayer is, that You will keep me there, that I may lean upon Jesus more than ever, and seek my happiness more exclusively in His service. May I every morning be drawn more closely by the cords of His love and be led to fight more faithfully under His banner.

Stayed upon Jehovah,
Hearts are fully blest
Finding, as He promised,
Perfect peace and rest.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

