Daily Devotionals: (June 15th): Prayer for Care from a Loving Father

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “And will be a Father unto you, and ye shall be my sons and daughters, saith the Lord Almighty.”—2 Corinthians 6:18 

Jesus, blessed elder brother “in whom the whole family in heaven and earth is named,” may I be enabled to imitate Your example of holy resignation to Your Father’s will. May the cup of bitterest earthly sorrow be taken into my hands with Your own breathing of devout submission: “This cup which You give me to drink, shall I not drink it? Even so, Father, for so it seems good in Your sight.” It is my comfort, blessed Lord, to know that while the best of earthly parents may err, You, the unerring God, never can. In Your most mysterious dealings there is wisdom. In Your roughest voice there is mercy.

Adorable Redeemer, all these filial blessings and adoption-privileges I owe to You. It is Your precious blood-shedding which has “set me among the children”; it is that which still keeps me there. Anew this day would I go to Your cross; anew would I supplicate that the Holy Spirit, the divine Comforter, would be sent forth into my heart, enabling me to cry, “Abba, Father.” May the thought of this blessed trust in You, support me amid life’s fitful changes and transient friendships, and may I be enabled to dwell with holy delight on that glorious time, when, no longer an exiled pilgrim in a strange land, I shall be received at the gates of glory with a Father’s welcome.

I commend myself and all near and dear to me, this day, to Your fatherly care and keeping. And all I ask is for Jesus’ sake. Amen.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

