Daily Devotionals: (June 22nd): Prayer to Walk in Newness of Life

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “Like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.”—Romans 6:4

Gracious God, You have again dispersed the darkness of another natural night. Every rising earthly sun is bringing me nearer the gladdening day-break of immortality. O grant that when the trumpet shall sound and the dead shall be raised, I may be ready to listen undismayed to the summons, “Behold, the Bridegroom comes, go out to meet Him.”

My prayer is, Lord, that I may now be made partaker of the blessedness of the first resurrection from a death of sin. As one “alive from the dead,” may I rise and walk with a living Saviour in “newness of life,” that thus I may at last share also in the more glorious resurrection of His ransomed saints, when His “dead men shall live,” and together with His body “they shall arise,” obeying the joyous mandate of their risen Head: “Awake and sing, you who dwell in the dust.”

Blessed Jesus, I do rejoice to think of Your own triumphant rising from the tomb. I rejoice to be able to visit in thought Your vacant sepulcher and to hear the glad tidings, “He is not here, He is risen!” “The Lord is risen!” It is the blessed pledge and earnest of my own redemption from the power of the grave that “because Christ lives, I shall live also.” O may “my life be now hidden with Christ in God, so that when Christ, who is my life, shall appear, I may also appear with him in glory.”

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

