Daily Devotionals: (June 27th): Prayer for the Outpouring of the Spirit

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh.”—Joel 2:28

O Lord, while I might be dull of hearing and disobedient to Your voice, “Take not, O gracious God, Your Holy Spirit from me.” Come, blessed enlightener, quickener, sanctifier, and inspire this dull, cold heart. Touched as with a live coal, may the flame of a holy love to You be rekindled on its altar. “Return, O Holy Dove, sweet messenger of rest,” from the true ark of God. Give me grace to hate the sins which drove You away from my breast. Breathe upon me and say, “Peace be to you; receive the Holy Spirit.” Invigorate my languishing affections. May I realize my dependence on You for every pulsation of spiritual life. Without You I perish.

While I pray for this blessed Spirit in behalf of my own soul, Lord, it is my earnest prayer that He may be poured out upon all flesh—that that time may soon come, when the rain of His gracious influences shall descend on a barren church and parched world. Hasten the Pentecost of the “latter day.” Earth is at present but as the prophet’s “valley of dry bones.” Come, blessed Spirit of all grace, “breathe upon these dry bones, that they may live.”

The Spirit of the Lord is not restricted. O my Father in heaven, have You not promised to give the Holy Spirit to those who ask You? O that each and all of our hearts may become living temples in which the Holy Spirit dwells! May nothing that is unholy find admission there, but, “sealed with that Holy Spirit of promise, the earnest of our inheritance,” may we be daily and habitually living in the expectation of eternal glory. All I ask is through Jesus Christ, Amen.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

