Daily Devotionals: (June 30th): Prayer for a New Day

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: “Choose you this day whom ye will serve”—Joshua 24:15

O eternal, ever-blessed God, whose merciful kindness is new to me every morning, give me throughout this day that peace which the world cannot give. As the beams of the material sun are lighting up anew my earthly chamber, may the inner chamber of my soul be illuminated by a better and brighter radiance. Jesus! blessed fountain of light and life and glory, disperse all the darkness of unbelief and sin. May Your presence and love hallow all my joys and mitigate and sanctify all my sorrows.

Before I enter on the day’s duties, sprinkle once again the lintels and doorposts of my heart with Your own most precious blood; may my inmost thoughts and purposes and desires and affections be consecrated to that God whose property they are. May I have an increasing experience of the sweets of Your favor and friendship and love.

With You, blessed Lord, I am rich, whatever else I lack; without You, I am poor, though I have the wealth of worlds beside. Take away what You will, but do not take Yourself from me. Nothing can fill and satisfy the longings of my immortal nature but You. All worldly happiness and creature joys are poor substitutes for the inexhaustible source of all joy. Let me know what it is, amid the wreck of earthly refuges and hopes, to exult in the persuasion, “The Lord lives; and blessed be my Rock; and let the God of my salvation be exalted.”

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a Reply

