Daily Devotionals: (May 30th): Prayer for Divine Heart Searching

by Aaron Dunlop

Reading: Search me, O God, and know my heart: try me, and know my thoughts.”—Psalm 139:23  

Dear Heavenly Father, I acknowledge that I am nothing, and yet I know so little of my own sinful heart. I would seek to make a more entire and undivided surrender of all I am and have to You. Give me such a dreadful and affecting sense of my vileness, that I may never feel safe but when close to the atoning Fountain, drawing out of it hourly supplies. May mine be a daily heart and self and sin crucifixion, an eternal severance from those bosom traitors which have so long separated between me and my God.

Make me more zealous for Your honor and glory: “Cleanse the thoughts of my heart, by the inspiration of Your Holy Spirit.” “Let no iniquity obtain dominion over me.” But may it be my daily ambition to become more like You, reflecting more of the image and imbibing more of the spirit of my divine Redeemer, that thus the atmosphere of holiness and of heaven may be diffused all around me. May my own soul be pervaded with lofty and purified aspirations. May I be enabled to exhibit to the world the felt happiness of close walking with God.

Gracious Father, “send forth Your light and Your truth” to a darkened world. May Your own ancient people be speedily gathered in with the fullness of the Gentile nations, that all ends of the earth may see the salvation of God. Bless all my dear friends, near or distant. May they have the heritage of those who fear Your name. Defend them now by Your mighty power and at last number them with Your saints in glory everlasting. Amen.

Adapted from the Rev. John McDuff, D.D., The Morning Watches, 1852.

John Ross Macduff was born at Bonhard, near Perth, on May 23, 1818. After studying at the University of Edinburgh, he became parish minister of Kettins, Forfarshire,  in 1842. In 1849 he moved to St. Madoes, Perthshire, and in 1855 to Sandyford, Glasgow. He received the degree of D.D. from the University of Glasgow in 1862, and from the University of New York about the same time. He retired from pastoral work in 1871, moved to Chislehurst, Kent where he died in 1887.

Leave a comment